Giving Back is the Greatest Gift

by Sharon E. Curry, American Red Cross of Massachusetts

Sharon Curry speaks with CBS Boston reporter Kate Merrill in April of 2021. View CBS Boston’s story here.

At a past time in my life, I needed help to provide for my three sons. I was told about the American Red Cross Boston Food Pantry, and how they helped families in need of assistance. With tears in my eyes, I visited the Food Pantry, telling them my story of how I didn’t have any food for my family during the holidays. I was so overwhelmed with all the support that they gave to me. I cried all the way home (happy tears!) knowing that someone cared to help put food on my table for the holidays.

I said to myself ‘I have to help the American Red Cross because they made a way for me and my family.’ I joined the Food Pantry as a volunteer for many years nonstop until I was hired to work and help service the families in need of food assistance.

What keeps me going?

I have many purposes in life that I found over the years of working at the American Red Cross Boston Food Pantry. As I help families with their needs, I still see myself in every last one of them – mothers, grandmothers, fathers, aunts, sister, brothers, and children. If I can help one person, like American Red Cross helps millions, my purpose is fulfilled.

My perspective on the work I do comes from my mother, as I grew up in a family of nine. She has always told me her stories of her life and how she had to provide for her family. She explained that times were very hard for her, but she never gave up. The will is to make a difference in the world.

(Boston, MA 11/21/20) Mayor Martin Walsh takes a quick picture with Sharon Curry as they hand out turkey and the fixings at the American Red Cross Boston Food Pantry. (Mayor’s Office Photo by John Wilcox)

I would like people of all colors to know that it does not matter who you are – it’s what you are that matters.  Who is really there to help make life’s journeys a little bit easier? The American Red Cross has done just that for me and others, and they continue to do that for families around the world.

My message is this to volunteers, employees, and donors:

Frist: Find your purpose in life. Second: Give what you have with an open heart. Third: Don’t ever give up believing in yourself. It will give you a chance in life as the American Red Cross did for me.

Thanks – Sharon E. Curry

Sharon Curry speaks to a group of volunteers during a Thanksgiving distribution in November of 2018.

Leave a comment